First morning in Seattle

I woke up this morning at 6am sharp, even though my alarm was set for 7am. Usually when I’m sleeping in a new place I wake up and have that “Where am I?” moment. Even sleeping at my parent’s house, I woke up wondering where I was. Not this morning, though. I think somehow it’s so ingrained in my subconscious that I’m now living in Seattle that I can’t forget where I am, even in that brief moment after waking up.

I wandered out to the kitchen, feeling surprisingly calm. I was expecting a “What have I done? I’m thousands of miles from anyone I know!” feeling to hit me. But it didn’t seem to. The big living room window overlooking the port by Pike Place caught my eye and I was stunned (that’s the advantage of being on the 14th floor… you get an amazing view!). It is SO beautiful! The strong wind was making the waves dance in the darkness illuminated only be the city lights, and I could see the dark silhouettes of the cranes and cargo ships in the harbor. Millions of little lights from various buildings twinkled in a friendly way, as if to reassure me that there was a whole city full of people doing things… I wasn’t alone in a strange city. Big buses zoomed by on W99; they were so long that they were made up of two separate components joined by some type of flexible coupling to allow them to make turns.

I came out to the kitchen and got breakfast for Piper and me. Piper spent all of last night under the bed. She seemed to be doing ok in the new apartment until I left to go to the grocery store last night. When I came back, I found her wedged in a small crevice above the kitchen cabinets and she was scared and didn’t know how to get down. I helpfully got on top of the kitchen counter and got her down, but she mewed pitifully and was terrified. She ran under the bed and really hasn’t come out since then except for breakfast. However, she spent the first night at my parent’s house under my bed too, so I think she’s just had a traumatic experience and needs to recover. Poor kitten! I felt just terrible that she was so scared yesterday! The only good thing is that now the plane ride is over and the only thing she’ll have to do is move from temporary housing to my permanent apartment, when I get one. I’m looking at 5 apartments today. I’ve been to their websites and they all seem expensive, but that’s the problem with living downtown! I have to get over the sticker shock! 🙂

I got an email from Lululemon – Pacific Place (a yoga clothing store in downtown Seattle… I subscribed to their email list as soon as I knew I was moving to Seattle). They have their 2nd annual birthday bash today and are celebrating by having a yoga class from 8:30am to 9:30am as well as having sales throughout the day. I’m not sure if I’ll have time for the yoga class since I’m looking at the apartments today, but I’m at least going to stop by and check out the sales since I have a gift card… courtesy of my Very Nice Boyfriend. 🙂

Today I am going to rest in God, enjoy beginning my new life in this new city, and be thankful for this gift God has given me. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Seattle

Leave a Reply

