First day at Amazon!

I feel like my life these days is a series of “first’s”… I love it! 🙂

I had my first day at Amazon today. I loved the culture and everyone I met there. You’re allowed to bring your dogs to work there! My dad told me about that several months ago, but I figured there were a whole bunch of criteria to be able to do that, but there’s not. It just has to be house-broken. Surprise, surprise. 🙂

The first half of the day was orientation (i.e. benefits and everything). The second half of the day I read documents that I was given, but of course I don’t know enough to be in the least useful yet. Oh well. That will come! One thing that’s encouraging is that there are a lot of other new hires, so I’m not going to be the “newbie” for very long. There are a lot of people in their twenties and thirties, so it will be a different experience as well working with people more my own age. I’m not going to write about any details of work, for fear of writing something that’s company confidential, so I’ll keep things at an overview-level. Everyone there was so nice, though… I’m looking forward to getting to know them all better! 🙂 And I’m looking forward to knowing more about my job and learning about the project(s) I’ll be on… in a way it’s fun starting a new job, but in a way I just hate that inevitable period of inefficiency when you don’t really know anything yet!

Piper seemed glad to see me when I got home. That’s nice. 🙂 She really likes sleeping on the kitchen chairs because they’re tucked under the table so she gets the feeling of being protected while she sleeps. I don’t know what she’ll do when we move to my little studio apartment and I don’t have any dining room table. Poor kitten! Every time she starts to get used to something, I make her start all over! At least this next move will be the last one for at least a year! 🙂

It’s very, very windy out today. It was rainy earlier, but not anymore. Now it’s just windy… great big gusts that tear up the streets and almost pull your scarf off of your head! I’m kind of tired, but I’m thinking about going for a short run. Piper is tired and asleep and doesn’t seem to want to play, and I feel like a run will perk me up. If I can motivate myself to go out in the wind, here is how I see my evening shaping up:
* Run
* Take a long, hot shower
* Read the Bible
* Blow-dry my hair

It’s not a very exciting night… you would think I could come up with something more exciting! Even though it’s so windy and pretty cold outside, I saw a bunch of people (like 50 or so) waiting outside a movie theater for tickets… maybe I should be out doing that. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

