It’s amazing how you get used to things… I was so awed by the view out of my apartment window when I first moved in, and now it’s commonplace. Still gorgeous, but commonplace. I did turn off all the lights last night and just looked out at the bay and enjoyed the lights of the ships down below and the lights of the shore across the bay. It was very beautiful. Now that work has started, though, I feel like I don’t have as much time to appreciate beauty. Part of it is my own fault though. I typically haven’t been getting back to my apartment until 6:30pm or so because I usually stop at a couple stores on my way home, and I also have to walk home so that takes half an hour or so. I actually really like the walk home though… very relaxing. Also, there are so many other people walking home that it seems like you’re part of the community if you’re walking home too. I’m still enough of a newcomer to the area where I value feeling like “part of the community”. šŸ™‚

I took my first yoga class at “Be Luminous Yoga” (the studio where I won the month long pass to). OH MY GOSH!!!!! It was so intense! It was hot yoga, so the room was heated to about 85 degrees during the practice. I was literally dripping sweat all over the mat (and the surrounding floor) by the time class was only halfway over… it was THAT intense! I like to think I’m in pretty good shape, but I’m already really feeling sore from the class, so I have no idea what I’ll feel like tomorrow morning. I would like to take another class tomorrow morning (after all, it’s free unlimited yoga for a month… so I should take as many classes as I can, right?). šŸ™‚ But at the same time, I would have to get up at 5am to be able to make it to class in time. And as much as I sweated in this class, I’m not sure I’d be able to stop sweating by the time I got to work and I don’t have much desire to sit and sweat all over my desk. šŸ™‚ So we’ll see about tomorrow morning! šŸ™‚

Piper’s curled up on the sofa as I write this. I think she’s finally adapting (too bad, since I’ll be moving to my new apartment soon).

One bad thing about the new apartment is that I won’t have an excuse to walk over here to the Pike’s Place area any more. Oh well… I’ll just have to make it a priority to come here anyway! It’s so beautiful and there are so many amazing stores and restaurants!

Work continues to get better as I learn a little more each day. I’m working with a girl around my own age who’s also pretty new to Amazon (although not quite as new as me). She seems really nice, and I think we’ll have a lot of fun working together. šŸ™‚

I’m really tired tonight. I came home from yoga dripping sweat, drank three glasses of water, ate pretty much everything that wasn’t nailed down, and took a hot shower. Now my head’s wrapped up in a towel and I’m completely exhausted. I’m really only still up because I’m waiting for my laundry to be done in the washer and ready to move to the dryer. (I’m not kidding… those yoga clothes were dripping sweat… pretty disgusting!). As Tom put it… And you like this sweaty, painful yoga stuff, WHY? I don’t know. I just do. šŸ™‚ I feel sore in a really good way. So good that I’m contemplating another yoga class tomorrow even though I’d have to get up super early. Choices, choices.

Today was an absolutely beautiful day! Probably about 60 degrees outside, sunny, and gorgeous! I probably should have gone running after work, but after yoga there was no way my body would have allowed me to. Plus I already ran this morning before work.

I know I’m going to fall sound asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow (if not before). That’s been really typical ever since I moved to Seattle. I have slept 100% deeply straight through the night every night I’ve been here. Tomorrow will have to include a trip to Whole Foods because I’m running low on a few things and am officially out of hair shampoo and conditioner. And almost out of soap. And I could also use one of their amazing deli salads! Sometimes they also have specialty ethnic salads so maybe I’ll get one of those. They also have an amazing and yummy array of soups, so maybe I’ll get one of those. Or I might (and probably will) decide to just save money and eat my canned butternut squash soup that I already have at my apartment.

Good night and I hope everyone sleeps as soundly as I intend to! šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Seattle, Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

