Adventures in dogsitting

Who would have thought it would be so hard to find an ice cube box?  For those who don’t even know what I’m talking about, I’m referring to that box you put in your freezer that can store ice cubes made in your ice cube tray.  Mike wanted one for his freezer,  so I went to the grocery store Sunday morning to do some grocery shopping and find an ice box.  I couldn’t find anything, but it was so sunny and clear that I could clearly see the mountain peaks walking back from the grocery store… they were gorgeous!  Later in the day I took Mike back up to Capitol Hill so he could see the mountains too.  I would have taken pictures, but the best place to take the picture was unfortunately right in the middle of a busy street.

I also saw a Studebaker Lark car by the side of the road next to a coffee house.  If you don’t know what one of those looks like, you should definitely google it… it’s a very old car!

Even though it’s been gorgeous and sunny, it’s been a lot colder than we’re used to.  Overnight it’s been getting down into the mid thirties, and this week is supposed to be even colder with a chance for light snow later on this week.  It’s also been very windy, and I still feel like my face hasn’t quite recovered from wind burn from being outdoors a lot this weekend.

Despite the colder temperatures lately, though, there still seem to be a lot of outdoor flowers thriving.  Along the front of our apartment building there are some beautiful pale yellow pansies that somehow seem to be surviving the wind and the cold.  I think of my mom when I see them because she loves pansies, and I don’t think she’s ever seen any that are this pretty pale yellow color.

I can’t believe that the weekend went by so fast, and it’s already Monday evening!  It was a busy day at work.  I ended up dogsitting two dogs over lunch… a Corgi and a black lab puppy.  Unfortunately they didn’t get along well.  The Corgi is old and wanted to be left alone and the black lab puppy wanted to play.  Not a good mix!  After snarls and snaps were exchanged, I left the black lab puppy with my longsuffering office mate and took the Corgi on a walk outside.  It was cold and windy, but the Corgi didn’t mind at all.  He walked along happily and insisted on stopping at every tree and every flat stone to sniff crazily and mark his territory.  Because of this, we couldn’t move very fast.  🙂  When I got back to the office, the black lab puppy was still there and scared because her owner wasn’t nearby, so I sat down next to her to comfort her.  She came and sat on my lap… so there I was… sitting on the floor outside my office holding the Corgi’s leash (with the Corgi as far away as he could get from the black lab) and with the lab on my lap.  A guy I don’t know came by, stopped, and smiled.  “I know this looks ridiculous,” I informed him, before he had a chance to say anything.  He just smiled again, and moved on.  A few minutes later he came back down the hall and glanced to see if I was still there with the dogs.  Yup, I was.  🙂  Lesson learned: Do NOT agree to dogsit two dogs at once if you aren’t confident they’ll get along.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Dogs + Cats, Life in Seattle

Leave a Reply

