French & Electronic

This week continues to fly by… I cannot believe it’s already Thursday!

On Tuesday I went straight from work to a hair appointment to get my hair cut and highlighted.  I really love my hair stylist… she’s right around my age and we have a lot in common.  We always chat the whole time she’s working on my hair.  She works in a very small hair studio with only about four stylists working there up in Capitol Hill.  It was raining when I arrived, and I shook all the water off of myself and my umbrella as I walked up the rickety, old, wooden stairs to their second floor location.  They’re located right in the downtown area of Capitol Hill on the main street and they have a whole bunch of windows along the wall of their studio, so you’re able to look down at all the cars and people on the streets below.  Since it was raining, it was already dark, so you could see lots of umbrellas, cars with their headlights on, and the bright neon lights of neighboring businesses as rain streaked the windows.  It’s a very cool atmosphere!  While I was waiting for her to mix up the color for my hair, I sat and sipped hot green tea (which they provide in giant ceramic mugs) and listened to the music they were playing.  All of a sudden I realized that I knew the song that was playing!  It was in French, and it’s by one of my favorite French singers.  I was so excited and asked Marissa about the song as soon as she got back.  She said that the playlist was actually hers and that she really likes that singer as well.  After my hair appointment I stopped by the grocery store to pick up some things since it’s just a block up from the hair studio.  It had stopped raining by the time I started back, so it was a pleasant walk, but I was pretty tired!  On my way back I called Mike and told him about hearing the French singer at the hair studio, and he looked her up online and found out that she’s coming to Seattle in May!  How exciting!  Tickets were really cheap, so we bought two tickets, and now we’re going to see my favorite French singer in May!  🙂

Tonight Mike and I are going to see an electronic music concert.  We’re pretty excited… it will be a really great show!  I’m going to take a nap after work so that it isn’t (hopefully!) too hard for me to stay up for the concert.  Fortunately even if I’m just exhausted, I’ll only have one day of work and then I’ll have the weekend to recover.

How can it already be Thursday?  I am totally mystified by how quickly this week has gone by!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Arts in Seattle

Leave a Reply

