The Elevator/Stairs Decison

It has been an extremely busy week.  Seriously.  Every day at work goes by so fast that I don’t mind when it’s Monday because I know I’ll blink and it will be Thursday.  Case in point: Today is Thursday and feels like Monday.  Work has just been extremely busy lately.  Not just for me, but for many people in my department.  Even though it can be exhausting running around all day, I really like it.  I like being busy and interacting with people all day.  Ultimately I also like meetings, as lame as that sounds.  I spent most of today in meetings, but I feel they were very good meetings that fostered good communication.  Fun stuff.

So what has been going on in my life besides work and resting/recuperating from work?  Good question!  🙂  I ran this morning on the treadmill and Mike came down and ran a couple miles with me, so that was cool.  He’s definitely making an effort to work out with me more.  I’m now officially in marathon training for the Seattle Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon in late June.  It’s such a long time from now so I know I’ve got lots and lots of training in front of me but I’m just being patient.  Running is so therapeutic that I’d be running even if I weren’t training for anything.

After work today, I was mentally very tired and just needed to walk, so I stopped by Whole Foods.  Some people have retail therapy; I have Whole Foods therapy.  I got spinach, arugula, and Curry Sticks.  I was completely out of salad fixings, and I have discovered that one can never have too many Curry Sticks.  🙂  Walking home from Whole Foods was really mind-clearing.  The wind is really strong today, and all of the clouds in the east were dark, but the west was completely clear.  This led to that weird state in which you’re walking towards dark clouds, but somehow there’s sunlight glinting off everything.  The strong wind just whips out any cobwebs that are in your head… it’s awesome.

On my way to Whole Foods I saw a woman with a golden retriever walking towards me.  The golden retriever was the fattest golden retriever I’d ever seen, and I realized with some surprise that I really don’t seem to see overweight pets here… I think it’s because everyone’s so good about walking their dogs and giving them lots of exercise.  However, as the woman got closer to me, the dog seemed to split apart (I had an extremely weird feeling seeing that happen), and then I realized that it was actually two dogs… one behind the other.  And they were both normal-weight dogs.  Interesting.  Lesson: Never judge something until you’re close enough to really understand what it is.

When I got home from Whole Foods, I paused (as always) to determine if I would take the stairs or the elevator up to my floor.  I almost always take the stairs, but I leave myself the option of the elevator.  I know that when I take the elevator it either means I’m REALLY tired or I’m carrying too many groceries to feel like climbing the stairs and navigating the stairways.  I was pretty tired after an extremely busy day (week actually!) at work, but I still opted for the stairs.  So I must not be that tired.  🙂

Piper is rubbing her head against my hands right now, making typing difficult, and Mike and I are going out to eat at a new (to us) restaurant tonight down by Pike’s Place Market so I should go and get ready.  It’s not raining now, and hopefully it will stay that way for the rest of the evening!  Good night all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Seattle, Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

