A Slow Cooker…. Failure?

Yesterday morning was a classic “rush-like-crazy” kind of morning.  Unfortunately it was also a “I can’t make it out of bed early” kind of morning.  I got out of bed when my alarm went off at 5am and wandered blearily into the bathroom.  Why was I up early?  The only thing I knew was that I had gone to sleep thinking I must get up at 5am.  Oh, yes.  I had to run, do laundry, start a slow cooker meal, and do my dishes.  Remembering all of that made me move a little faster (but not much).  I got my workout clothes on and headed down to the workout room.  I ran an interval workout on the treadmill, and it was a rough one!

Mile 1: warmup

Miles 1 – 3.25:  .25mi @ 8min/mile and 4% incline alternated with .25mi @9:30min/mile and 2% incline

Miles: 3.25 – 4: 9:13min/mile @ 2% incline

Miles 4  -5: cooldown

Yes, it was quite a workout.  It fully woke me up.  🙂

Then it was back to my apartment for a quick shower, breakfast, and then time to make the slow cooker meal.  Unfortunately I discovered that the Italian dressing I had bought at the store to go in the slow cooker had a leak, and it had leaked on my counter.  Well, using that was no longer an option.  But Italian dressing was a pretty central component of the recipe.  I was already running late so I really didn’t have time to go to the store and get more.  What to do… what to do?  Well, what’s Italian dressing made out of anyway?  Olive oil?  Got it.  Vinegar?  Got it.  Spices… maybe got them.  Which spices.  I’m sure you know where this is going.  I analyzed the ingredient list on the back of the Italian dressing bottle.  It didn’t have amounts of the ingredients, of course, but I can estimate.  🙂  If this were a TV show, the meal would probably turn out amazingly awesome and I would have just invented a new recipe or something.  Nope.  Or it would have turned out super terrible in a cosmically awful way.  Nope again.  Instead, it did what most recipes do… it was pretty good.  Mike seemed to like it but not love it.  I’ll have to try it again next time when I actually have Italian dressing.  🙂

This week has been insanely busy at work.  Yes, I really do mean insanely busy.  The days go by so fast it’s ridiculous.  Once again, it’s already almost the weekend… one day left to go.

Over lunch today I went running on a four mile run with a guy from work.  He was hard to keep up with, but I managed.  The typical guy just tends to be faster than the typical girl.  I feel like running with him and running at the front of the pack with the running group on Monday nights is good for me.  If I run with other people and push myself to match the pace of the fastest person I’m running with, I’ll get better.  Running with the guy from work today, we were going at about a 7:30 pace.  That’s really out of my running comfort zone.  I gravitate more towards the 8:30’s.  (One minute might not sound like a lot of difference, but it definitely is).  🙂

After work today, Mike needed some things from the drugstore, so we walked downtown.  It was a beautiful night with a little bit of a sunset around the clouds and no rain.  It’s been in the mid 50’s, so the temperature has been great.  We also stopped at Barnes and Nobel looking for the biography of Sammy Hagar from the band Van Halen that Mike wants to read.  It was sold out at Barnes and Noble and at Borders, so we ordered it on Amazon when we got back.  It was a lot cheaper there anyway!

Piper hasn’t had any stomach problems since I’ve started brushing her, so that’s awesome!  She’s been enjoying the nice weather and has spent a lot of time at the window.

Piper at the window

Piper at the window

Isn’t she cute?  🙂

And, just so no one forgets what we look like, here’s a picture of Mike and me.

Mike and me at the Pink Door

Mike and me at the Pink Door

 

I took this when Mike and I went out to eat at that awesome Italian restaurant down by the waterfront called the Pink Door.  It was a fun night!

One more crazy busy day left until the weekend!  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Dogs + Cats, Life in Seattle

Leave a Reply

