Musical Mike and Furry Piper

Work today was busy again, but I left at 5pm because it was sunny outside.  🙂

I really didn’t do much of anything, but it was relaxing anyway.  I had dinner and then hung out with Mike.  That guy is <i>focused</i>.  Man.  He’s been reading that music magazine and playing samples from the DVD that came with the magazine in a super analytical way.  Like that kind of way where it takes you a month to finish reading the magazine, even doing it full time (because I feel like that’s about the speed he’s reading at).  However, at the end of the month, he will know at least as much as the magazine article authors… and probably more.

Mike got a call back from a company he interviewed with a couple months ago and hadn’t heard anything from in awhile, so that’s exciting!  It’s not at all music-related, but Mike was reasonably interested in it at the time so hopefully they want to do another interview.  We’ll wait and see how God leads on that one.  🙂

I brushed Piper for about 20 minutes, and I got a lot of fur out of her, but she was very uncooperative.  She wants to be brushed in her own way, and her way doesn’t align at all with my way.  Basically, her way is:

  1. I hold the brush up.
  2. She walks up to the brush and butts her face up against it.
  3. She walks about a foot away and rubs her face against kitchen cabinets for about 30 seconds.
  4. She looks back at me.
  5. She meanders slowly towards me and moves her other cheek up against the brush.
  6. Repeat steps 3 through 5 indefinitely.
My way is as follows:
  1. She holds still.
  2. I brush her until no more loose fur comes out.
Obviously, we have philosophical differences.  Obviously, I’m also a lot bigger than her, so my way usually wins but that doesn’t mean that she makes my victory easy.  She squirms and wriggles and mews (first reproachfully and then in a very annoyed way), while I struggle to hold her with one hand and brush her with the other.  I would never declaw a cat, but I have to admit it’s convenient she’s declawed or brushing her would definitely be a two-person job.
Mike and I got hungry about an hour ago and ordered pizza and a Greek salad from the pizza place downstairs in our same apartment building.  Mike’s pizza had a mix of meat and veggies.  The most notable thing about it is that it had entire roasted garlic cloves on it.  That sounds pretty disgusting, but it’s actually really good (I might be speaking as someone who stole a garlic clove).  Their Greek salad is amazing too… I get it periodically and it’s so good.  It’s got capers on it, and I think the capers definitely make the salad.  Also, it has so many kalamata olives on it that even I can’t eat them all… and that’s saying something.
It was a bright sunshiny day today, and I loved it (even though I was at work most of the day).  Walking home and seeing all the flowering trees everywhere made me definitely realize that spring is for sure here.  It hasn’t been overwhelmingly warm, but I’m not complaining with temps in the mid to high 50’s.
All right… time to head up and get ready for bed.  And maybe brush Piper some more!
Oh… one more semi-cool thing!  I added a link to the upper right-hand side of my blog that lets people “subscribe” to my blog.  Basically, that means you’ll get an email whenever I make a new blog post, which may or may not be interesting to people but at least I added the capability.  🙂
Leave a comment

Filed under Dogs + Cats, Life in Seattle

Leave a Reply

