A Sunny Beautiful Mother’s Day!

It’s Mother’s Day!  🙂  Unfortunately the card I sent to my mom didn’t get there by Mother’s Day, so Mike’s mom’s card probably didn’t get to her by Mother’s Day either since we sent them out the same day.  It’s too bad… I’m still trying to figure out how long it takes letters to get back to Michigan.

In honor of Mother’s Day,  I just want to say how much I appreciate my mom and Mike’s mom… Mike is still asleep or else I’m sure he would second this.  🙂

They both work endlessly to help their families.  Whether it’s my mom making up mounds of taco meat for my dad’s taco kick and insisting on buying my Starbucks coffee while I visited in January, or whether it’s Mike’s mom always offering to babysit Mabel and make Mike cookies when he visited in December, they are both focused on their families so much more than on themselves.  I seriously don’t have enough words to list all the times that I’ve seen both of them prioritize their family’s and friend’s needs above their own in both little day-to-day things as well as big commitment things; their selflessness has been an awesome example!  They are also both easy to talk to and are very good listeners.  I wish that Mike and I could see them both today, but there’s something about being 2,000 miles apart that puts a damper on get-togethers.  Anyway, Mike and I miss you both SO much and are sending many happy wishes and virtual hugs to you both even though we can’t be there!

In other news (since I promised pictures of Piper), here’s Piper sitting on a towel on my bed… she really loves this towel.

Piper on a towel

Piper on a towel

She was interested in the camera for this picture, but she lost interest in it literally one second later.

Piper losing interest in the camera

Piper losing interest in the camera

I completely realize that I need to find things to take pictures of besides my cat; I just often don’t remember to bring a camera with me when Mike and I are out.  And Piper’s cute and always seems photogenic.  🙂

It started out as a rainy, cloudy, coldish day today, but now the sun is out, the sky is blue, and it’s gotten warmer.  I went downtown this morning to get some groceries, and I got a bunch of milk.  It’s always such a good feeling to have a lot of milk in the fridge because it’s one of the heavier things I get at the store.  🙂

It’s been a relaxing weekend!  🙂  I went to bed really Friday night, so I woke up early on Saturday ready to run!  I was a little apprehensive since I haven’t been running as much lately because I’ve been having some knee pain, but I’ve been icing my knee and praying about it (I know there are much more important things to pray about, but I couldn’t help praying about it anyway… I’ve been training for this for almost a year!)  Anyway, my run Saturday went really well!  🙂  I went 19 miles… I ran up to Green Lake, ran around it three times, and then ran home.  I’ll still keep rubbing and icing my knee for the next couple weeks in the evenings, but it doesn’t hurt anymore so that’s awesome!  And I’m not sore today even though I did that long run yesterday.

Yesterday Mike had a headache, so we didn’t do much early in the day.  However, he felt a lot better in the evening so we walked downtown and stopped at the Verizon store.  I was up for my two-year contract renewal so I was able to get a super great deal on a new iPhone 4!  Yea!  I’ve waited a really long time for Verizon to get the iPhone and for my 2 yr plan to terminate so I could get a good price on a new phone with a 2yr plan renewal!  I probably should have gotten the white one because that’s the brand new, just-out, super cool, iconic thing… but I really like the old black one and I feel like the white one will get dirty and look dingy after awhile (all those Mac cables and products that are white start to look dingy after awhile.).  So I got black with a graphite case to keep it from getting damaged (when you don’t buy the insurance plan, it always pays to get a case!).  🙂

It’s such a beautiful day that I hope Mike and I can go somewhere this afternoon!  🙂

Happy Mother’s Day again to both Mike’s and my wonderful and amazing mothers!  You are both so appreciated, and we really wish we could be there to spend the day with you!  It’s a gorgeous day in Michigan and a gorgeous day in Seattle… the sun seems to be shining in honor of you both!

Leave a comment

Filed under Holidays, Life in Seattle, Running

Leave a Reply

