Toucans and bears…

This has just been the craziest weekend!  Friday night we went to University Village, Saturday morning I did my last 20 mile run, Saturday afternoon we went downtown and hit up some sales, this morning I went grocery shopping, and this afternoon we hopped a bus to the zoo!  The zoo is only about five miles from our house, so it’s really not a long ride.  I left Piper on the rug in my apartment.  Doesn’t she look like she’s enjoying the sunshine?  🙂

Piper in the sunshine

Piper in the sunshine

Of course I took a million pictures at the zoo, but I’ll just post a couple of the highlights.

Cute little pengiuns

Cute little penguins

 

Let sleeping jaguars lie!

Let sleeping jaguars lie!

 

The new baby ocelot kitten

The new baby ocelot kitten

 

I completely fell in love with the toucan!

I completely fell in love with the toucan!

 

A pretty serious-looking gorilla!

A pretty serious-looking gorilla!

 

Some kind of cinnamon duck...

Some kind of cinnamon duck...

The name of the above duck was something like a cinnamon duck… I tried googling it to find out what it’s real name is but if you try googling “cinnamon duck” you actually come up with a lot of recipe search results… which was definitely not what I was looking for!

Minature panda cow?

Minature panda cow

I have never heard of such a thing as a panda cow… Mom, you’re the farm girl… does this ring a bell???

I was going to write my dad's phone number on this board...

I was going to write my dad's phone number on this board...

Since my dad is a master gardener now, this sign definitely caught my attention!

A very friendly orangutuan

A very friendly orangutan

This orangutan sat right next to the glass and pulled that tattered blanket over his head… he was so cute!  🙂

Mike just loved this bear!

Mike just loved this bear!

Halfway through we took a break to eat… pizza for Mike and palak soup for me.

Mike and me at the zoo

Mike and me at the zoo

It was definitely a fun day!  Also, the zoo was SO wide open and spacious that we felt like the animals all had so much room to run around in, and that was great to see!  (It was a little hard on our feet, though… we have done a LOT of walking this weekend!)

Mike’s already asleep, and I’m off to relax for the rest of the evening and gear up for the work week ahead.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Seattle

Leave a Reply

