Mike’s first week at work!

What a busy, busy week!  I’ve been going into work early this week, but I don’t think I will today… I don’t feel like it and I also have to get my brother’s birthday card out today or there’s absolutely no way it will get there before his birthday on Friday (honestly, it probably won’t get there till Saturday… but he’ll understand.)  🙂

This is also Mike’s first week at work!  He doesn’t seem particularly excited about it, but I think it takes him a little while to get involved in projects before he starts getting excited about them.  It’s also pretty overwhelming starting a new job and having a normal first shift schedule if you haven’t had one in awhile, so he’s been pretty tired so far this week.  Hopefully this weekend he’ll have a chance to rest and recuperate and reflect on how he feels overall about the new job.  Hopefully he’ll start making friends there too… that always helps so much at work!

With work being busy, it doesn’t seem like there’s been a whole lot of time to think about other things.  My plan was to have my last long run on Saturday (9 miles), and then I was planning to go to the Lululemon Run Club Monday night for a short 3 or 4 mile run.  I hadn’t been there in awhile, and it turns out they’ve been working their distance up, and Monday night they were running 7 miles.  Hmm.  I ran with them even though that was farther than I had been planning to run.  We were going at a very relaxed pace, especially since almost everyone in the Run Club is running either the half or the full marathon this weekend, just like me.  So I think that will be my last run before the marathon.  I may do a short 2 mile run or something tomorrow morning, but that will be it.

Everyone at work is being so supportive of my marathon!  I’ve already had two people offer to drive me to the starting line since they’re driving friends and/or relatives there anyway, and everyone’s been interested in how my training has been going.  A coworker has also been checking the weather report for me to let me know what the weather’s supposed to be like on Saturday.  Another coworker whose wife is running the half marathon walked me through what the course route will be like.

I’m trying to start getting mentally prepped for the race, because it’s been three weeks since my last 20 mile run.  Three weeks might not sound like a long time, but it’s long enough to make you start thinking, “Can I really still do this?  I don’t remember what it’s like to run that far” and thoughts like that.  Today is also my first day of eating only bland, easy to digest, low fiber foods to help make sure my stomach feels good on Saturday.  (No, I’m not making this up… it’s recommended that you avoid foods that are hard to digest for 3 – 4 days before the race.

On Friday I’m taking a half day of vacation from work so I can go down to Quest Field and pick up my runner’s packet that will have my running shirt, my runner’s bib (why do they call it that?), and the timing chip that will track my progress through the race.

Basically, my job for the next three days is:

1.  Lots of sleep

2.  Lots of bland, high-carb foods

3.  Very little exercise

Mike and I are going to rent a zipcar tonight to pick up kitty litter and a few other heavy-ish things.  Apart from that, it should be a quiet, relaxing night.

Piper’s at the window peering down suspiciously at the garbage truck in the street below.  I think she feels much safer being on the fourth floor and so far away from the scary, noisy truck!  🙂

It’s Wednesday… the midway point of the week (and as fast as Monday and Tuesday flew by, the weekend will be here before we know it!).

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Seattle

Leave a Reply

