Sweet… pea soup?

Yesterday was a long-ish, hard-ish day at work.  It was all fine, but suffice it to say I had split pea soup for dinner.  I feel like split pea soup is a comfort food.  Why?  I don’t know.  It was actually a little bizarre heating it up on the stove because after I’d been heating it for a few minutes I started smelling sugar really strongly.  That’s definitely not how split pea soup is supposed to smell!  Hmm.  It was definitely coming from the soup pot.  Hmm.  I leaned in to investigate.  The soup itself appeared to smell fine.  I lifted up the pot.  And there… wedged between two coils of the stovetop range, was a very burnt blueberry.  Ooops!  I’ve been eating a lot of blueberries lately, and apparently that one got away from me.  It had carmelized all over the surrounding burner, so I’m deciding what to do about it.  I tried to scrub it, and it didn’t seem to want to come off.  But part of me is convinced that if I keep using that burner, eventually the blueberry will char into nothingness, leaving me with a clean burner once more.  Thoughts on this strategy?  I’m open to suggestions.

Mike finally got around to actually installing the Kindle software on his Mac computer.  I wanted to show him all the cool features immediately.

“Here… you can make bookmarks and highlights… let me show you!”

“Hang on.  Where is it storing these book files?  On my main hard drive?”

“Umm… I don’t know.  Probably.  I never wondered.”

“Does it say somewhere?”

“Yeah, we can look it up.  But don’t you want to look at the reading options?”

“In a minute.”

“Can’t we just get to the fun part?”

“The fun part is getting things configured correctly.”

I’m really not kidding.  That really is exactly how our conversation went.  🙂

The weather in Seattle has been just amazingly sunny and gorgeous… I actually can’t remember the last time it rained.  Probably when Mike’s parents were here actually.  :/  That’s kind of a bummer.

I should go.  I’m hoping to make it to the gym for a 5:30am class.  Anyone care to make bets on whether or not I’ll actually make it?  I haven’t been able to drag myself out of bed at 5am once this week, so I don’t have a good track record.  But I would really like to go to that class.  We’ll see tomorrow morning I guess!

Have a wonderful night everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Seattle

Leave a Reply

