Thankful Things Thursday… a trial run :)

I completely realize that I have been terrible about posting lately, but I have been busy working so your loss has apparently been Amazon’s gain.  🙂  Mike has had to work late this week as well, so it’s worked out well.  We pretty much have both been doing a lot of working lately.

I have still continued to find time for my marathon training and related fitness activities though.  My alarm went off at 5am yesterday so that I could get to a 5:30am body pump class.  From 5:00 to 5:07 I hit snooze.  From 5:07 to 5:10 I wandered blearily around my apartment trying to remember why I was up at 5.  From 5:10 to 5:14 I put in my contacts and wondered if I had any clean workout clothes.  From 5:14 to 5:20 I located and put on my workout clothes.  That pretty much left me time to walk to the gym and get out my barbell and weights.  I thought I was going to die during the chest workout, but I felt strong during the shoulder and tricep part.  That’s how it always goes.  My chest muscles are definitely my weakest link.  🙂

Last night our apartment complex hosted the annual BBQ for the residents.  Since it was in my building, I figured I should go, but Mike had to work late and I didn’t know if I felt like going by myself.  However, I decided to go anyway.  As soon as I got to the patio I discovered hamburgers, hot dogs, salmon burgers, wine, and beer.  And some talkative people to get me started.  🙂  I ended up talking pretty extensively with a software architect who moved here from Austrailia.  He had such a great perspective!  I loved it!  Mike ended up coming home right around the time it was ending and I texted him to come down and join the party.  He came down, had a burger and a beer, and seemed to enjoy the party reasonably well, but he was pretty tired.

However, today is Thursday… the last weeknight of the week!

And Friday is an ‘off’ day from my training, so I don’t have to get up early tomorrow to run, workout, or pursue any other fitness-related activities.

I have an expensive hobby I have to do something about though.  There’s a “Wall of Greens” salad bar at the work cafeteria, and it’s really addicting.  I’m currently eating a salad consisting of romaine lettuce, green beans, sweet peppers, grilled asparagus, roasted corn, cucumbers, peas, tomatos, roasted sweet potatos, garbanzo beans, and black beans.  Yeah.  It’s pretty good.  Pretty amazing actually.  Not super easy on the wallet, though, so I think I need to pick one day a week where I get to have that and the rest of the time I’ll bring my own lunch.  Although when I get that salad I don’t need any mid-afternoon snacks.  The moral of this story is: If you’re hungry mid-afternoon, your salad wasn’t big enough.  🙂

Several bloggers that I follow have a “Thankful Things Thursday” post each week where they list small, every-day things they’re thankful for.  I feel like I have SO many things to be thankful for, so I’m going to see what I can do about instituting my own Thankful Things Thursday.  So, without further delay, here are some things I’m thankful for.

1.  I’m thankful for the new dog at work whose owner sits right next to me.  The dog’s name is Blake, and he’s a puggle (a pug mixed with a poodle?)  He looks mostly pug, and he has very sweet deep brown eyes and a very concerned expression on his face continuously.  I’m not thankful that he doesn’t like the treats I have, but I’ll find some treats that he’ll like this weekend.  🙂

2.  I’m thankful that the temperatures are cooler.  As nice as 80 degree days are, it makes sleeping more difficult when you don’t have air conditioning.  Or a fan.  Or more than one window.  In a studio apartment.

3.  I’m thankful that my cold is over!  Nothing makes me appreciate not having a cold as much as having a cold.  The scratchy painful throat, the constantly running nose, the depleted energy levels… it’s definitely better to be well!

4.  I’m thankful for Oskri bars.  After a long search, I have finally found gluten-free, low-sugar bars that contain no sunflower seeds!  And the company that makes them is located in Lake Mills, WI, and is powered by wind energy.  How cool is that?  I’m apparently returning to my roots, since I lived in Lake Mills (although I was two at the time and remember very little).  How about it, Mom and Dad… do you know where this company is by looking at their address?  How close do you think it is to our old house?

5.  I’m thankful that I jumped out of my comfort zone a little by going to the party solo last night even though I didn’t know anyone and I’m thankful that I’m jumping out of my comfort zone some more by going paddle-boarding with some friends from work next Wednesday after work.  🙂

Now it’s your turn… anything you’re thankful for?  Feel free to post in the comments if you’re thankful for something you don’t mind sharing!

2 Comments

Filed under Thankful Things Thursday

2 responses to “Thankful Things Thursday… a trial run :)

  1. Mom

    I’m thankful for YOU, and dad, and Tom. I’m also thankful for my new power mower, which is amazing after struggling with a mower that took longer to start than it took to mow the whole yard! I’m thankful for Jesus, who saved me and the Bible, which tells me how to know Him. I’m thankful for growing up on a Wisconsin dairy farm with great parents and the wonderful country life. I’m thankful for common, ordinary days, which means that nothing bad is happening in my little circle.

Leave a Reply

