Junk mail… is there any other kind?

Ok.  I feel like I’m officially about ready to give up on paper mail.  In the mail today, I received the following items:

1.  A sale ad for Road Runner Sports.  The sale ad consisted of a 20 page booklet which showed full color pictures of about 100 shoes.  Next to each shoe, rather than listing a price, it simply said “TOP SECRET VIP EXCLUSIVE… VISIT YOUR LOCAL STORE FOR PRICE!”.  Really?  I mean, really?  If the deal isn’t compelling enough to list in the ad, it probably isn’t compelling enough to make me take the bus to the store.  I wasn’t impressed.  They should have saved the money they spent to print all those full-color shoe and the postage they spent to circulate said ad booklet to hundreds of people and instead used it to offset lower costs on the shoes… low enough so that they could send me an email with a compelling enough price cut to cause me to want to come into the store.  Sorry Road Runner… the ad ended up in the trash.

2.  A confirmation of my address change with Glamour magazine.  Um… really?  You’re just now getting the news that my address changed?  Did I even subscribe to your magazine?  I don’t remember anymore.  Apparently I did in Michigan.  Sorry, Glamour… in the trash.  If you discovered a year late that I moved across the country, I don’t think I’m a “valued customer”… regardless of what your letter says.

3.  A credit card offer from American Express.  For a “Green Card”  Isn’t that some type of immigration card?  Since when did American Express start issuing that card?  And were they really unoriginal enough to use a name that already had a strong association with it?  AND, as icing on the cake, I don’t have to pay an annual fee for the first year, but after that it’s $95 a year.  Really?  You expect me to pay an annual fee to use your basic (not to mention ugly) “Green Card”?  Laughable.  Sorry, “Green Card” and AmEx… in the trash.  For $95 a year, I better get a million airline miles annually and the card better be the best looking credit card I’ve ever seen.

4.  A renewal notice from Self magazine.  With a very nice letter telling me what a valued customer I am.  (Did they copy the phrasing from the Glamour magazine letter?  I think so… it sure looked familiar.)  They urged me that this special deal wouldn’t last long… I need to respond by October 10th to lock in my savings.  In small print in the lower left-hand corner of the letter was a cryptic message notifying me of the expiration of my current subscription Dec12.  They are sending me a renewal notice SIXTEEN months before my subscription expires?  And treating it as though it’s an urgent, time-sensitive matter?  REALLY?

The world is going crazy.

In case it sounds like I’m just a complainer (which apparently I am tonight!), I had a great trail run with Kate.  We managed to dodge most of the raindrops that were out today and didn’t get too wet.  And running in Discovery Park is always peaceful and calming.

In other news, Mike continues to read his synth handbooks and Piper continues to bat her mice around the bed crazily.

And that’s all that’s going on in our little corner of the world in the Pacific Northwest.  🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Life in Seattle, Random Thoughts

One response to “Junk mail… is there any other kind?

  1. Jim Armantrout

    The world is crazy and will get worse BUT “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.” Isaiah 26: KJV

Leave a Reply

