Wild Ginger

Last night Mike and I went out to eat a late dinner at Wild Ginger, known to be one of the best Asian restaurants in town.  They’re typically pretty crowded, but I made reservations.  If you’re interested, here’s their website: Wild Ginger.  It’s a pretty nice website.  It’s also a pretty nice place.  We started out with drinks.  They are known for having really good specialty cocktails, so Mike and I were curious how good they were.  I went simple and got the Wild Ginger vodka martini, described simply as house-infused ginger vodka.  It was good.  Really, really good.  I never would have thought of infusing a drink with ginger, but why not?  Ginger ale is popular and tastes pretty good… and that doesn’t even use fresh ginger like this did.  Mike got the Bacardi Highball, described as Bacardi Select dark rum, orange Curacao, lime juice, bitters, ginger beer.  Mike was slightly iffy on the idea of mixing ginger beer with rum, but decided to give it a try anyway.  He ended up loving it.  He said it tasted just like a pirate drink… he could almost feel the salty breeze on his face while he drank it.  Surprisingly poetic, coming from Mike.  🙂

For our entrees, we split a market vegetable skewer from their Satay bar.  The veggies were good and coated in a light orange teriyaki sauce that tasted really refreshing.  Our waiter was very helpful in helping us select main courses since we showed a remarkable amount of indecision in determining which entrees to order.  Mike ended up getting the Seven Flavor Beef described as Flank steak, fragrant with the seven flavors of lemongrass, peanuts, hoisin, chilies, basil, garlic and ginger is quickly wok-fried resulting in a complex, intense flavor.  I got the Monks Curry described as A vegetarian curry featuring eggplant, hard spiced tofu, sweet potato, green beans, daikon and peanuts in spicy, exotic Thai curry sauce.  We both thought our food was excellent, very delicately spiced and just generally very tasty.  Both dishes were served with both brown and white jasmine rice, and we both started out using the dark wooden chopsticks provided, but Mike decided that eating the rice was too difficult with chopsticks so he switched to using a fork.  I kept using the chopsticks.  I’m not exceptionally great with chopsticks, but I’m not terrible.  And I love using them, for some inexplicable reason.  After dinner, we sat there and talked and drank hot jasmine tea from a steaming hot metal teapot.  We actually stayed there till almost midnight even though they close at 11pm.  I started to feel pretty awkward, but Mike insisted it was fine and that they had to clean up the kitchen anyway and we weren’t preventing the staff from going home or anything like that.  It was a gorgeous atmosphere and we were sitting right next to a window that looked out onto 3rd Avenue so we got to watch all the people walk by.  Walking home was chilly-ish, but not terrible.  And it wasn’t raining or anything which was awesome.

I don’t feel entirely ready to go back to work tomorrow, but I feel reasonably refreshed and I don’t think this week will be as busy as last week so I’m hoping for the best.  🙂

Mike ordered the parts for a new computer, so he’ll be putting that together once he gets all of the parts in the mail.  His current PC is really old.  I can’t remember exactly how old, but it’s time for a new one.

I walked to Whole Foods this morning and amazingly it didn’t rain on me.  It’s sure looking like rain now, though.  Apparently I timed my trip correctly.

Since it’s a new year, I’m currently deciding what to do about racing in 2012.  Part of me is ready to sign up for another marathon in the hopes of getting a marathon that doesn’t have as many unforeseen challenges as the two I ran in 2011.  The other part of me is thinking I’ll concentrate on running shorter distances and doing more yoga this year.  I still haven’t decided yet.  I did take a yoga class on Friday after work, though, and it felt so amazing.  So amazing.

Piper’s rubbing up against my wrist, so I think she’s prompting me that it’s time for bed.  She might be right.  🙂  I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in Seattle, Running, Seattle Restaurants

Leave a Reply

