A wine documentary

Has anyone heard of the band Tool?  Well, apparently the lead singer, Maynard Keenan, now grows grapes and makes wine.  Mike and I watched a documentary about Maynard and his winemaking yesterday.  It was an hour and a half documentary and had a lot of Maynard’s sense of humor woven into it.  His sense of humor really didn’t jive with either Mike or me, so we found the documentary only semi-interesting.  The part about wine-making in Arizona was interesting, particularly since Arizona isn’t a likely place to grow grapes.  All the parts where Maynard was “interviewed” by redneck “relatives”, however, was hard to take.  I actually gave up five minutes before the end because I had reached the limit of my patience.  All in all, I really wouldn’t recommend the movie.

Here’s a music video I would recommend, though.  It’s a lot more folky than most songs I like, but for some reason I’ve been listening to this song a lot lately.  There’s something introspective about the song that I like, and I love the music video.

Somebody That I Used to Know – Gotye

Mike had a headache yesterday (I suspect the result of too much coffee in the past couple of weeks), so it was a pretty low-key day.  I made some dinner for him while we talked and he nursed his head.  I made a beef polenta pie, and I think it turned out pretty well.  Especially considering I had never cooked with polenta before, so this was a new experience.  Polenta is basically ground cornmeal, for those not familiar with it.  The recipe called for instant polenta, which I couldn’t find at the store, so I instead bought a precooked polenta roll and then mashed it up in a frying pan and mixed it with some cream to make a crust for the beef pie.  It was an interesting experience.  The more I realize how much I can get away with changing while cooking, the more motivated I am to cook.  🙂  Here’s the recipe in case anyone is interested in recreating it… it’s got lots of veggies and is very healthy!  Beef Polenta Pie

In other exciting (I hope) news, Mike and I will be coming back to Michigan the week of July 2nd to attend a friend’s wedding.  The actual wedding is on the 6th, but we’ll just come in for that whole week and have our annual trip in the summer instead of the fall this year.  We have no specific plans for the week beyond seeing friends and family and driving to Detroit for the wedding.  🙂

Work continues to be really busy for both Mike and me (and probably will be for the foreseeable future), but that’s much better than the alternative of having little work to do.

Even though it’s a cloudy, grey Monday I’m optimistic.  🙂  I’ve gotten some things done at work this morning that have been on my plate for awhile, so that’s always a great feeling.  🙂  Did anyone else have an interesting weekend, since I definitely did not?

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Travel, Work

Leave a Reply

