CSA’s, car knowledge, and dogs

Who’s familiar with CSA’s?  I know my mom and dad are… because they shared one with me one summer.  For those of you who are unfamiliar, CSA stands for Community Share something or other.  Basically, it means you agree to pay a local farm a certain amount of money per week (or per season) for fresh fruit and vegetables (and sometimes even flowers and herbs).  I signed Mike and me up for one!  They have a weekly drop-off spot at one of the Amazon buildings, which makes it even more convenient.  Plus they include recipes each week for the produce they deliver so that I won’t be left wondering what on earth to do with something (I hope!).  Hopefully they don’t deliver too many mushrooms.  😉

This weekend it was beautiful out in Seattle!  Bright and sunshine-y and 60+ degrees.  Mike and I took the opportunity to head downtown and walk around.  Mike brought his camera and took a bunch of pictures, many of them in Pike Place market.  It was a relaxing day, and the streets and shops were just packed with people.

Sunday was even more beautiful and even warmer than Saturday.  I went for a 12 mile run in the morning.  I ran up to the U-district and then took the Burke-Gilman trail towards Lake Washington.  It was absolutely gorgeous outside and so many people were out running, walking dogs, and biking. Speaking of biking, Mike and I also hopped a bus for Green Lake this weekend to go to Gregg’s Cycle to check out bikes.  We did some test rides (which reminded me how fun bike riding is!).  Green Lake was pretty packed with people enjoying the sunshine, though, so we couldn’t move very fast.  Mike and I haven’t quite decided on models yet, but we’re well on our way and I’m excited that with summer coming, we’ll be able to go out on bike rides together.  Discovery Park, Magnuson Park, here we come!  🙂

Mike and I also went out taking pictures this weekend.  Well, Mike took pictures anyway.  He got a lot of good shots since it was such a beautiful day and there were so many people outside.  Plus because there were so many people around, he was able to get some great candid street photography shots.

On a different note, I’m excited to see Baxter (the corgi at work) today.  He usually comes in on Tuesdays and I suspect that he’ll be radiating happiness after a weekend of being outdoors.  Not that Baxter doesn’t usually radiate happiness; he does.  But I suspect that he’ll radiate even more happiness after such a gorgeous weekend.  🙂

Speaking of dogs, Mike and I saw lots and lots of dogs while we were out this weekend!  Big dogs, small dogs, furry dogs, smooth dogs, fat dogs, thin dogs… you name it, we saw it!  The one commonality is that they all looked really happy.  🙂

When I was out to lunch with a couple guys from work we started talking about cars, and they were really impressed with my knowledge of cars.  Thanks, Mike!  If it wouldn’t have been for all of those cold hours working on cars with you, I wouldn’t be able to impress co-workers with my knowledge of HID headlights and transmissions.  😉

The weather continues to be gorgeous here… sunny and mid-60’s!  After all the cold weather, I’m loving it!  🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Dogs + Cats, Weather

3 responses to “CSA’s, car knowledge, and dogs

  1. Nate

    Dear Car Lady,
    My spider gears are all chopped up and the tread on one of the tires in back is worn away. They tell me I need a new diffy. Can you tell me what’s wrong?
    Nate

    • Dear Nate,

      Despite my reputation, I am not a good replacement for the gentlemen on Car Talk. Unless it’s an obvious problem such as a drained battery or a flat tire, or unless you know so little about your car that you have trouble locating the gas cap, I will be able to tell you very little you don’t already know.

      Having said that, if your vehicle is 4-wheel drive and you have noticed excessive wear on one of your tires, your differential may not be distributing the power between the wheels appropriately and a new differential may be needed. Please consult either an authorized mechanic or the gentlemen on Car Talk. Thank you for writing.

      Car Lady

  2. Lia Kochenderfer

    Hi Car Lady-
    I look forward to you showing me all the basics of car owning/maintenance/care when you come out for a visit next month. I’m very excited to be buying my first car and also a little nervous!;)

Leave a Reply

