Economical cooking and prepping to move

Ok, so let’s talk ratatouille.  I love the Pixar movie.  I also love the look of the food dish when Remy makes it for the food critic (even though it’s a cartoon it still looks tasty for cartoon food).  I also like the fact that I found a recipe for it that takes two yellow squash and two zucchini since that happens to be the exact number of yellow squash and zucchini that I got from the CSA this week.  I also love the fact that the recipe calls for eggplant… something I had never cooked with.  Plus it calls for an onion, and I happen to have one lone onion left over from CSA produce.  So I made this recipe!

Pros:

+ healthy

+ chock full of amazing veggies

Cons:

– I read (after I had already made the recipe) that eggplant tastes bitter unless you soak it in water for about 30 minutes before using it.  Umm… really?  Never would have thought of doing that.  So anyway, my ratatouille is a little more bitter than I would have liked.  I’ve been able to mask that pretty well by adding seasonings, but still.

– I think the eggplant I used was unusually large.  I prefer recipes that say ‘2 lb of eggplant’ or even ‘1 large eggplant’, but to just say ‘1 eggplant’ leaves me wandering in the mire.  And let me just say that there is a HUGE difference in eggplant sizes!  Probably anything from 1/2 lb to 5 lb.  So anyway, my ratatouille is pretty heavy on the eggplant and pretty light on the zucchini.

Last night I embarked on a huge cooking frenzy.  Mike is still not feeling well and just wanted to rest, so it was a great opportunity for me to cook.  Since I had a bunch of green beans I decided to make Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes.  It was terrific, but would have been even better with fresh basil.  All I had was dried.  I also realized that I had eight ears of corn in the fridge.  I had been saving them for Mike and me to grill up with some brats, but Mike hasn’t been feeling well and I don’t feel up to grilling a bunch of corn and brats all on my own.  So instead I shucked up the corn and boiled it.  Not as tasty, but much easier!

So basically, I don’t have any CSA produce left from last week except for a few carrots.  I’m not worried about those because I’ve been eating one or two a day pretty steadily so I’ll get those eaten in the next couple of days.

Today I get a new load of CSA produce, and I’m a little nervous because I’m going to be getting a carving pumpkin today.  I don’t know how big that is, but it sounds heavy.  And that’s in addition to all of the other produce.  Seriously, this CSA is getting more and more to the point where it’s not set up for non-car owners.  At least there’s only a few weeks left so there’s only so much heavier the produce can get before the end of the season (knock on wood).  Expect a dissertation on CSA’s when I’ve actually completed the entire season.  🙂

Mike stayed home from work yesterday and asked for chicken soup for dinner, but he looked better and doesn’t have a fever anymore.  He was extremely skeptical of my ability to tell whether or not he has a fever by feeling his forehead with my wrist, but I’m confident.  I may not know much about a lot of things, but fevers I know about.  I explained the science behind it to him and he remained uninterested and unimpressed.  🙂  However, I think he’s on the mend and he headed off to work today so he must be feeling at least some better.

In other news, I get the keys to Mike’s and my new apartment in Wallingford this Saturday.  Even though it has been completely dry in Seattle for the past three months, rain is projected for Saturday.  Murphy’s Law, anyone?  I’ve rented a Zipvan (like a Zipcar but a van), so I’ll see how much I get moved.  Fortunately I have a lease on the old apartment through the end of the month so I have some time to get everything moved.  Mike and I did the math and it’s more economical for him to keep his lease till it runs out in January than to cancel it.  So he’ll get lots of time to move his things in.

I’m getting so excited at the thought of cooking in a bigger kitchen.  Especially after last night when I was balancing things on the edge of the counter and putting them on my ottoman because I just didn’t have enough counter space.  Now I’ll have enough space so that the blender can stay on the kitchen counter.  Wonderful!  🙂

So the rest of my evenings this week will probably be spent throwing out more stuff and packing.  What are other people’s plans for the rest of the week?

Leave a comment

October 9, 2012 · 9:14 am

Leave a Reply

