How many knives does it take to make a grilled cheese sandwich?

I had a plan when I woke up this morning.

I was planning on cleaning Piper’s litter box (exciting, I know) and then going to a 9:30am Memorial Day yoga class at a studio nearby.  I bought a Groupon for this yoga studio, so I was anxious to try it out.  I got up at 7am, ate breakfast and then industriously cleaned Piper’s litter box and the bathroom floor.  Then I got out my yoga clothes and yoga mat and filled up my water bottle with fresh ice water.  It was 9:02am.  Right on schedule to get to the 9:30 yoga class.

And then I walked outdoors.  I knew it was grey and cloudy outside from glancing out my apartment window (not unusual in Seattle obviously) but it was actually raining.  And I was wearing flip flops and didn’t have a coat on.  (I am such a wimp considering the name of my blog… I don’t deserve to have that blog name.  My blog should be called http://www.it-better-be-nice-workout-weather-or-i’m-hitting-the-treadmill.wordpress.com.  Not quite as catchy but unfortunately more accurate.)  To give myself full credit, I wrestled over walking through the rain to go to yoga anyway.  For a full seven seconds.  And then I headed back upstairs.  I think I’ll hit the treadmill later today instead.

So here I am typing out a blog post while more hard-core yogis (or at least yogis with cars who are thus impervious to rain) are sweating it out at yoga class.

I’m also drinking loose leaf cardamom tea that a Persian friend at work gave me.  It’s so good.  It completely brings back memories of my fresh-out-college days when my roommate was Lebanese and she had literally pounds of cardamom tea.  I probably didn’t sleep a full night’s sleep in the whole year we lived together because I was so caffeinated from drinking cups and cups of that black cardamom tea all day, but it was great stuff.  After my friend at work gave me the cardamom tea Mike and I went to a kitchen supplies store looking for a tea ball.  Somehow I seem to have lost both of my tea balls in the move from Michigan.  Not sure how that happened.  Mike found a perfect one that I am in love with.  Since it has a dragonfly on the end, Mike has started calling my tea ‘dragonfly tea’.  Not terribly accurate, but cooler-sounding than cardamom tea.  🙂

On a completely different topic, one day last week Mike stayed home from work with a headache.

I washed the dishes before I left for work.  When I came back there were an assortment of empty glasses and mugs by the sink.  That was unsurprising.  However, also sitting by the sink were one plate, one giant spatula, one griddle pan, one table knife, one steak knife, and one paring knife.  I knew that Mike had gone out for breakfast, and I fed him dinner so I knew that somehow this odd assortment of dishes had contributed to his lunch.

“Mike?  What did you have for lunch?”

“A grilled cheese.”

I looked at the sink again.

“Anything else?  Any veggies or meat or anything on the grilled cheese?”

“No.”

“How do you need a table knife, a paring knife, and a steak knife to make an ordinary grilled cheese?”

Mike emerged from his studio room to stare at me in silence.

“I mean, really,” I persisted.  “I can’t even think of what I would use a steak or a paring knife for when making a grilled cheese.  Did you flip the grilled cheese using a steak knife in one hand and a paring knife in the other?  If so, I guarantee there’s a better way to do that.”

Mike raised his eyebrows and wiggled them as he stared at me in silence for another moment, and then he shook his head.  “You’ll just always have to wonder.”

And then he disappeared back into his studio room.

I could have pressed the point, but, despite all the articles I’ve read that stress the importance of openness and honesty in a relationship, I think this is one area where I think honesty might be overrated.  I don’t think I really want to know.

In other news, an I-5 bridge collapsed north of Everett.  Crazy!!  Apparently a truck ran into the side of the bridge and it collapsed!  That definitely doesn’t give me a warm fuzzy feeling about the state of all of the bridges in this country.  I don’t think anyone actually got hurt or injured from the collapse, though, which is wonderful but seems almost unbelievable.

Yesterday Mike worked some more on pictures from our Italy trip (specifically the pictures from Milan and Venice), and I think he’s planning on working some more on those today.  It was so much fun looking through the pictures again.  Even just a few months out from the trip I feel like there are so many details we would have forgotten without the pictures to remind us.  SO much fun!  We were so inspired by looking at the pictures that we started to think about our next trip (sometime in 2014).  We’re planning on the British Isles.  We both want to spend some time in England, I want to see tons of things in Ireland, and Mike wants to see a lot of things in Scotland.  But we’re only planning on this trip being about a week.  So we’ll see how much we’ll have time to see in a week.  We have plenty of time to figure that out before next year!

As another random thought, I inadventently ate a jar of pickles yesterday.  Granted, it was a smallish jar.  But unfortunately it wasn’t small enough that eating the entire jar wasn’t appalling.  Jars of pickle slices were on sale this week at PCC Grocery, and so I picked up a jar.  I hadn’t had pickles in probably a year or more.  The next morning I remembered I bought them and ate some pickle slices right out of the jar.  Yum!!!  I had forgotten how good pickles tasted!  I nibbled some more.  Then an hour later I remembered the pickles and went to eat several more.  By the end of the day I registered the fact that there were very few pickle slices left in the jar.  The registration of that fact was shortly followed by the registration that I had just opened the jar that morning and that since Mike hates pickles, all pickles absent from that jar had been eaten solely by me.  Oops.  I checked the amount of sodium on the nutrition label, and it wasn’t bad at all.  For a serving size of three pickle slices.  Although I could have done the math and figured out exactly how many milligrams of sodium I’d ingested, I decided to let it go.  I also decided to buy more pickles, since I was now officially out.  🙂

Last night Mike and I tried a new church.  A great thing about this church is that they have a Sunday evening service as well as Sunday morning services.  Somehow Sunday mornings just don’t work well for us.  Sundays are one of the only days Mike can sleep in and neither one of us likes getting up and rushing around to get ready for church.  It feels too much like getting up and rushing around to get ready for work.  However, evenings are a perfect time for us.  We’re usually in a more reflective (and definitely more awake) mode, and ready to learn.  Anyway, we enjoyed the new church.  And one advantage of going to the less-populated evening service is that there was a lot more parking available.  During the morning services I’ve heard that you have to come extra early to find parking on the surrounding streets.

On a more serious note, in an era in which so many of us live in comfort and are apathetic regarding the freedoms we have and the state of the world, I am very grateful to all of the people through the centuries who have served in the military and actively worked to protect the freedoms that most of us take for granted.  Regardless of the current state of our country, it would be a much worse place today without the bravery of their actions.

2 Comments

Filed under Life in Seattle, Random Thoughts

2 responses to “How many knives does it take to make a grilled cheese sandwich?

  1. Lia K

    The utensils I needed to cook a simple meal used to multiply…Strangly enough, this has not been the case since moving from BIG house to SMALL apartment. I.have.no.idea.

  2. I have been SO creative I’ve started living in small apartments! No mixing bowl? A sauce pot works! No 9×13″ pan? Divide the batter between an 8×8 pan and a standard bread loaf pan. No lemon zester? Use a grater and then chop the slices of lemon peel smaller with a paring knife! It’s so funny! 🙂

Leave a Reply

