The holidays in Seattle!

It feels like it’s been a really long time since I’ve posted, but I think I’ve just been really busy wrapping things up at Amazon.  My last day was Friday, the 12th, and everything leading up to that felt so busy.  I had absolutely no idea how much stuff I was responsible for and maintaining until I got ready to transition it to other people.  I guess that’s what happens when you work at a company for 4+ years!  🙂

My team had a white elephant gift exchange and potluck on my last day.  It was a fun time!  I really love all these guys and will miss them as I go on to my next adventure!  I have truly worked with some great engineers and amazing people at Amazon!

Coworkers and friends

A couple of my friends from Amazon!

 

After I left Amazon, Mike and I went out to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary.  (How did two years go by already??  I guess time flies when you’re having fun!)  🙂  We went to a gastropub called Spur.  Their tables were all booked up, so we sat at the bar which turned out to be a great decision because the bartender was really informative and helpful.  I looked Spur up later online, and as it turns out our bartender won the most imaginative bartender in Seattle award this year!  Who knew?  The atmosphere at Spur was very industrial… not quite to the point of being Steampunk, but headed in that direction.

Spur Gastropub

Spur Gastropub

 

We had a really good, relaxing time!

Two years!  (or 9 1/2 if we get credit for our years of dating!)

Two years! (or 9 1/2 if we get credit for our years of dating!)

 

After Spur, I wanted to go check out the Gingerbread village.  It’s a yearly exhibit in Seattle.  Local architects partner with artists and they end up building pretty impressive gingerbread buildings (or so I had heard).  I had meant to go for the past several years, but somehow we never made it.  Mike readily agreed to go, but he was dubious as I started navigating us deeper into downtown Seattle.

“What are we looking for exactly?” he wanted to know.  “I think we’re just going to hit the Washington Convention Center and not find whatever gingerbread thing you’re looking for.”

Oh ye of little faith.  Two minutes later, we turned a corner and were right in front of the Sheraton Hotel where the exhibit was held.  Both Mike and I were surprised how many people were already there!  We had to wait in line for 20 minutes just to see the gingerbread buildings!

Lots of people wanting to see gingerbread houses!

Lots of people wanting to see gingerbread houses!

 

When we got to the front of the line, I was so impressed!  These were much, much more than just ‘gingerbread houses’… some of these were almost ‘gingerbread cities’.  Except for the lights in the displays, everything seemed to be made of various types of candy and gingerbread.

Gingerbread Village

Santa in Hawaii?

 

Gingerbread Hollywood!

Gingerbread Hollywood!

 

The city of Seattle!

The city of Seattle!

 

Christmasy block structure

Christmasy block structure

 

After the Gingerbread Village, we did a little shopping.  Everything was so Christmasy!

Christmas shopping

Christmas shopping

 

When we got home we found a surprise had arrived in the mail from Lia… a little Christmas tree… predecorated with lights and ornaments and everything!  So beautiful!!  Of course Piper had to check it out thoroughly!

Piper investigating...

Piper investigating…

 

Apart from Christmasy stuff and finishing up stuff at work, life has just been a random assortment of small incidents, as usual.

Some examples…

I went in for a routine physical last week and got my blood drawn.  The guy who was drawing my blood was a pretty good looking guy probably 10 years younger than me.  I was trying to roll up my sweater sleeve so that he could get to my elbow, but the sweater sleeves were fairly tight and I wasn’t sure whether the sweater was rolled up far enough.  Without thinking I said, “I can take my shirt off if it helps.”  I then realized that didn’t sound exactly how I’d meant for it to sound, so I quickly added, “I mean, I have another shirt on under the sweater.  So if it helps, I can take off the sweater.”  It could have either been a really embarrassing moment or a really funny moment, but it was neither.  Apparently the guy drawing my blood didn’t have a sense of humor and didn’t even seem to realize what I’d said and just said, “Nope that won’t be necessary.  This should be fine.  Thanks for being so cooperative.”  Um… you’re welcome?  Clearly we weren’t on the same mental wavelength.  However, he let me pick the color of my band-aid after he was done drawing the blood, so it was all good.  I picked purple.  🙂  Speaking of sweaters, sweaters for penguins are really one of the best things of 2014.

One day last week while I was waiting for the bus, a MOUSE ran about a foot away from my boots and disappeared into some dense foliage near the bus stop.  He almost could have been cute if he hadn’t been a MOUSE!  Right next to my FEET!

I’ve still been running, but it hasn’t been as much lately.  I’m on a little bit of a break from running and then I’m planning to train for a marathon and run it with a friend from Amazon in June.  I ran a half marathon Thanksgiving with a few coworkers from Amazon.  It was COLD!  26 degrees!  My feet didn’t warm up until mile 11, which is pretty crazy since at that point I only had a couple miles left anyway.  It was fantastic running it with friends from work though!  I’ve never run long races with people before, but it definitely makes the miles go by more quickly!  They’re already signing up for more races, so apparently they had a good experience despite the cold!  And apparently I’ll still see them at races periodically even though we’re not coworkers anymore.  🙂

At the finish line of the Seattle half marathon!

At the finish line of the Seattle half marathon!

On the few nice days we’ve been getting, I’ve been going out for short runs to enjoy the weather.

Seattle in the winter...

Seattle in the winter…

The scenery in and around Seattle just doesn’t ever get old to me.

Mike hasn’t been running much these days, but he’s still been working out at the gym… it’s amazing how much more frequently you work out when there’s a full gym on the first floor of your apartment building!

Mike and I are starting to get geared up for our trip to Michigan this coming weekend.  I can’t believe how quickly this trip has come!  And Christmas is the week afterwards… where has the fall gone?

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving, and Mike and I look forward to seeing the MI relatives soon!  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Seattle, Thanksgiving, The Arts in Seattle, Weather, Winter, Work

2 responses to “The holidays in Seattle!

  1. Nate Danenberg

    I don’t know where Seattle’s fall went but I think Michigan’s fall went to Seattle.

    • 🙂 From what I can see from the Grand Rapids weather report… it looks like you may be having fall now (after your brief stint with winter)! The weather the past few years has just been bizarre!

Leave a Reply

