Lots of house projects!

And here we are again.  The past few weeks have been extremely busy.  (I feel like this is starting to sound like a theme.)

Because we have new construction, apparently it took the post office awhile to figure out what to do with us, so we didn’t get mail for the first couple of weeks and had to have it held at the post office and then go to pick it up each week.

So these days Mike and I have been unpacking, organizing, and drilling lots of holes.  Well, more specifically, Mike has been drilling.  He hung up a rod for my pots and pans to hang on.  He hung up hooks for coats inside the front door.  Next up is hanging up rings for our towels in the bathrooms.  The guy has been going crazy with the drill lately.

Mike drilling like crazy!

Mike drilling like crazy!

He’s also been working on unpacking some of his studio stuff.  I was working with him moving stuff around in his studio room a few days ago and picked up a big, long, black stand.

“Wow!” I said.  “This thing is huge.  This is like the guitar stand to end all guitar stands!”

Mike just stared at me and then it.  “Ok,” he finally said.  “But that’s not a guitar stand… it’s a tripod for a camera.”

Clearly, I don’t know what all of the things he has are.  😉

What else has been going on?  Well, the grout got reworked, and Mike sealed the grout in the kitchen so I have finally started to cook and use the kitchen again!  No more filling up our water glasses in the downstairs bathroom because we’re afraid of getting water (and thus the beginning of mildew) on the grout above the sink!  The first day I was able to use the kitchen I went a little overboard and made up roasted vegetables, hard-boiled eggs, a batch of chicken burgers, and a slow-cooker chicken veggie soup.  This weekend I kept things light and just cooked up some more roasted root vegetables… this time it was asparagus, beets, potatoes, and yams.  I was planning to put onions and carrots in as well, but I ran out of room in my pan.  🙂

Work has been busy but good for both of us.  Piper went to the vet on Thursday for a six-month checkup by the vet for UTI’s.  It looks like she’s got a clean bill of health!  It was 60 degrees on Thursday and sunny so I just walked over to the vet with Piper.  Piper, who usually hates being taken places in her carrier, was surprisingly docile and quiet.  I think she was just enjoying the beautiful weather!  She is absolutely loving the new home.

Looking out into the sun

Looking out into the sun

 

All stretched out in the sun

All stretched out in the sun

 

Being goofy in the evenings...

Being goofy in the evenings…

 

A chair that Mike and I bought on sale a week ago got delivered, and this weekend we got it out of the box.  It was fully assembled, but did need feet put on it.  When we were at the store looking at chairs, the woman who helped us said that the feet would be inside the chair when we received it.

“You have no idea how many people call us complaining that they didn’t receive the feet,” she laughed.  I didn’t laugh along with her.  The last chair Mike and I bought was from Target and when it was delivered, I thought they’d forgotten the feet until Mike found them inside the chair itself.

Mike and I also went to Bed, Bath, and Beyond, and we bought some clothes hampers and a trash can.  When we came out and wrestled all three of those things into our Civic, Mike was tired and threw the crumpled receipt into the center console.

“Can I just throw this receipt away?” Mike asked.  “Or do I need to file it?”

“Throw it away,” I said.  “It’s not like we’re going to return hampers.”

“What if they don’t hold clothes?” Mike asked, not too tired to have lost his sense of humor.  “What if they don’t hamp?”

Speaking of fitting things in our Civic, we have fit some pretty crazy stuff in our car over the past few weeks including, but not limited to, a six foot ladder, a seven foot long piece of acrylic (that Mike said was for a “bumper” on the edge of a corner in the basement… I think he was intimating that I scraped up one of the corners of the wall, but I don’t think I did  ;)), and a 4ft by 2ft Ikea desk (and the feet were still on the desk when we put it in!!).  That little Civic has proven to be extremely versatile!  I wonder if Honda engineers tested for these kinds of use cases.  Hey, let’s see if we can fit an Ikea desk in here… I bet people will want to do that at some point.

I just finished reading “Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption”.  It was an absolutely raw, horrifying, beautiful story.  A friend recommended it to me, and she’s a big reader, so I feel like she’s pretty discriminating.  I would highly recommend reading the book.  I think it was just made into a movie, as well.  I haven’t seen the movie, but the book was amazing.  True stories of human resilience are amazing and inspiring and awe-inducing to me.

Mike is reading Endurance: Shackleton’s Incredible Voyage a book about Ernest Shackleton, the explorer who went to the South Pole.  The book was recommended to him by a coworker he went to Minnesota with last month.  The past week we’ve shared crazy (true!!) snippets from each of our respective books, and it’s just amazing.  The words “Endurance” and “Resilience” which feature prominently in the titles of our books really say it all.  We both really love reading true stories of human lives!  It has also undoubtedly helped Mike’s and my reading that the TV isn’t hooked up yet.  😉  So no Top Gear, and no other shows.  A friend of mine at work lent me a new movie that just came out on video called “Whiplash”.  It’s about a drummer, but I don’t know anything else about it.  Hopefully Mike and I will watch it next weekend.  We can easily get the TV hooked up… we just haven’t done it yet.  A cable guy came and got us all hooked up with internet/cable our first weekend in the new house, but we haven’t gotten the TV all set up yet.  The cable thing was also another one of those this-is-only-a-problem-with-new-construction kind of incidents.  He spent five hours here because our town homes are new so he had to actually run a new wire out to our home from the main data line on the street.  Talk about scary jobs!  He had a ladder that he hooked over the cable line on the street and then he climbed up that.  And it was a windy day.  Wow.  The ladder was moving, and the cable guy seemed a little disconcerted when he came back down, but he did a great job!

With all of this going on, we’ve still had the chance to go out on a couple of dates.

Going out for a night on the town.  :)

Going out for a night on the town… standing next to our very own tree!  🙂

 

I have also been making some time to run… the weather has been getting warmer here.  It’s definitely spring!  I went on a short run a couple nights ago, and it was wonderful!  It was very slightly misting, and so peaceful and beautiful.

Looking into Seattle at night

Looking into Seattle at night

2 Comments

Filed under Beets, Cats, Cooking, Food, Furniture, Pictures, Running

2 responses to “Lots of house projects!

  1. And then there’s Undaunted Courage, the book about the Lewis and Clark Expedition!

  2. Lia K

    Drummers? Drummers!?! “Whiplash” has been ordered through my library just this minute. I’m only number 685 in line to receive my copy. Let me know when you watch it…and if it’s any good!

Leave a Reply

