A random day in the life…

It has been a long time since posting!  But interestingly, I’m starting to miss writing.  And that was part of the point anyway, I think… stop writing until I missed it.  Let’s see… it’s basically impossible to post about everything Mike and I have been up to in the past several months, so I’ll just put some random things down in the random order that they enter my head and we’ll see how it goes.  Yes?  Good.  On we go.

I feel like my life has been on fast-forward the past couple of months.  Basically here’s the low-down on the basics.

Mike has been trying to bring his lunch to work with him more often.  This is for two main reasons:

  1. Save money.  Lunch downtown is typically expensive.
  2. Eat healthier.  Apparently I’m a healthy cook.  Who knew?  😉
  3. Faster lunches.  Heating up something quickly in the office microwave is always faster than running out for an actual lunch hour.  (Spoiler alert: Mike and I have been very busy at our jobs the past six months!!)

What does this mean for me?  COOKING!  I enjoy cooking anyway, but I have gone from cooking one or two meals on Sunday afternoon to cooking more like 4 or 5 (there are very few meals Mike and I can both enjoy, hence the big variety).  For instance, this past weekend I made chicken and rice casserole with roasted broccoli, herbed baked chicken, beef brisket, broccoli lentil soup, and an assortment of side dishes.  That means basically Sunday afternoons are almost entirely spent cooking.  Good news: I’m becoming a better, more confident cook.  Bad news: Mike still mostly likes meat and potatoes, so I’m a *little* stifled in the creativity department.  I have been cooking myself some slightly more exotic spicy foods, though.  And maybe it’s just as well Mike doesn’t like them, since I seem to go through the leftovers pretty quickly all by myself.  😉

This weekend will likely be a little busy.  Tomorrow night Mike and I are going out to dinner with a coworker of mine from work and his wife.  It’s a little weird because I don’t actually know him very well.  He is originally from Ireland, moved to Palo Alto for work, and just moved to Seattle because his wife’s family now lives in Seattle.  The first day I met him in the Seattle office, I could tell right away he was from Ireland because of the accent, and we got talking about Ireland.  As it happened, Mike and I were going to the grand opening of an Irish pub in Fremont the following day (a block from our house!!  That’s clearly a dangerously close distance!), so I invited him and his wife along.  Fast forward to the following day, and there we were…. Mike, me, him, and his wife, along with two of their friends from San Francisco, and two of his friends from Ireland crowded into a crazy loud, crazy crowded Irish pub.  There was live Irish music booming through the pub (and I do mean booming… they had a guy there playing the bagpipes!  He was playing Scotland the Brave… which isn’t Irish… but…. whatever, right?).  😉  Anyway, it was a super fun evening, but a little light on actually talking since the pub was LOUD!  And my coworker’s Irish friend and his Brazilian wife were amazing.  🙂  The Brazilian woman and I ended up doing Irish dancing along with a bunch of other people in the pub.  It was a little interesting being taught to Irish dance in front of a noisy pub audience by a Brazilian woman, but it was such a blast!!  Loved it!  Let it never be said that I missed out on an opportunity like that.  🙂  So it was a fun night, but Mike and I didn’t really get to know my coworker and his wife much.  So…….. after this huge long backstory, Mike and I are getting together with them for dinner at a quieter restaurant tomorrow night.  Anyway, that will be fun!  We’re going to an epic restaurant in Seattle that Mike and I haven’t been to before because we typically don’t go to epic restaurants when it’s just the two of us (and we’ve actually been going out even less lately since I’ve been doing lots of cooking).

Then my run club is having a meetup in West Seattle Sunday morning, so I’ll be doing my long run with them.  Then Monday morning I’m flying to Palo Alto for work, so I’ll be away most of the week.  I’m getting Mike set up with vet appointments so that he doesn’t have to inject Piper with fluids and antibiotics himself while I’m away.  I took her in for her routine check-up on Wednesday, and the vet said that she is doing amazingly well.  Her kidney values are stable, no bacteria in her urine.  Basically we have a super healthy cat.  The only caveat is the once a day antibiotic injection, once a day fluid injection, once a day pepcid pill, the special kidney diet food, and epikiten powder sprinkled on all her meals.  But that’s all.  Other than that she is apparently as healthy as a horse!  🙂  She even gained 0.4 lb taking her to a whopping total of 6.7 lb.  What a victory!

Piper's usual unblinking stare while sitting on my lap

Piper’s usual unblinking stare while sitting on my lap

What else?  Well, the weather has been unexpectedly cold, windy, and (gasp!) snowy this winter.  It’s like we’ve had much snow, but we’ve had like six days of snow instead of our usual half day.  Apparently this is the snowiest winter in Seattle in the past 32 years or something like that.  I’m having a hard time coping over here.  What am I supposed to do with all this snow???  I’m going to have to buy a windshield scraper or snow shovel or something (right now we don’t own either).  One day last week, there was a giant snowstorm (read: we got FOUR INCHES OF SNOW in FREMONT.  That has NEVER happened while we’ve lived here.).  The entire city went crazy, a tanker overturned on I-5 (the only north/south interstate for commuters), I-5 got shut down for six hours while they got the tanker out of the road, in the meantime all the crazy I-5 traffic was diverted in and around Seattle causing massive commuter delays.  I ended up walking 4.5 miles home from work, and given the hundreds of people waiting at the bus stops, it was the correct thing to do because I would have been waiting for a bus for a looooong time.

Snow!  With footprints in it!!  This NEVER happens!

Snow! With footprints in it!! This NEVER happens!

In other news, I tried to adopt a second cat.  Multiple times.  And it failed.  Let me tell you about it.  First I saw the most adorable (A-DOR-A-BLE) kitten named BB on the Seattle Feline Rescue website that had a genetic problem with her back legs and couldn’t walk very well.  I was all set to go through physical therapy sessions with her and fix up our stair-heavy townhome to be more friendly to a mobile-challenged kitten.  And I kept looking at the picture of her adorable fuzzy, black face every hour at work to coo over her.  I showed her picture and description to all of my coworkers and they all assured me that she was a perfect fit for my household.  She showed up on the website on Sunday, and it took me two days to convince Mike to let me call on her.  I called Tuesday, and she was already being adopted.  WHAT?!?  I was rudely awakened from my dreams of Piper and little BB curled up together on the couch while Mike and I were away at work.  Next I dragged (literally) Mike to a cat adoption event two weekends ago, and we met a beautiful senior, blind cat named Rita.  I fell in love with her gentle demeanor and her soft grey fur and there was no way she would want to bully Piper (even Mike agreed with this).  I asked if I could hold Rita (i.e. outside of her crate), but they said I couldn’t do that without filling out an adoption form.  And, by the way, they had run out of adoption forms.  O…. k.  They told me to call the adoption hotline, which I did the next day.  I was interviewed by a stern-sounding woman whose first question was, “What kind of a home are you going to give Rita?”

Maybe I’m overly dense, but I had no idea what she was looking for as an answer to that question.  A good home?  A loving home?  A home with the finest tuna on a silver tray?  After that I was asked where Rita would sleep.  I explained that my current cat typically slept with us on the bed and I figured Rita would sleep there as well if she wanted to.

“Well, what if she doesn’t want to sleep on your bed?” the woman asked me, as if I was making a great deal of assumptions about Rita’s nocturnal preferences.  “Then where will she sleep?”

“Umm…” I wasn’t sure what the *right* answer was here.  “Wherever she wants?  Our current cat has a heated bed.  We were planning to get one of those for Rita as well.  Maybe she would want to sleep there.”

Anyway, that was probably the first ‘interview’ I’ve had in my life that really didn’t go well.  (Actually there was one internship interview I had in college that went more poorly, but I won’t go into that here.)  Somehow I seemed to “pass” the interview, because the woman told me she would pass my contact info on to Rita’s foster mom.  However, apparently I wasn’t the most desirable applicant for Rita, because when Rita’s foster mom called me two days later there were already two people in line to meet Rita.

And then my hair dresser told me that when she got a second cat, her first really old cat lost the desire to live and died a week later.  Talk about a traumatizing story.  So then I decided that maybe it’s best not to get any other cats while we have Piper.  Which, of course, made Mike supremely happy.

Speaking of cats!  Mike and I saw Kedi this past weekend.  It’s a story about street cats in Istanbul.  I loved seeing the streets of Istanbul through the cats that live in them and revel in the freedom and friendship they have with the human inhabitants there.  So fun!  I definitely love my four-legged, furry friends!!

My pensive furry friend

My pensive furry friend

I also ran a 15k race last weekend with my best racing buddy.  We raced together all last spring/summer/fall and ran Portland together.

Off to a strong start this season!

Finishing up the race by the space needle under a gorgeous blue sky!

Finishing up the race by the space needle under a gorgeous blue sky!

 

The daylight is finally starting to come earlier (although with daylight savings time this weekend, I’ll lose an hour of it again).  Why??   I need that hour of daylight in the morning to help me get up!  Also, I’m not really into losing an hour of sleep this weekend, especially right before my Palo Alto trip.

Love these early morning run views!

Love these early morning run views!

 

As far as what Mike’s been up to lately, he has a slightly different role at work (systems development engineer), so he’s been spending more time at work ramping up.  He’s enjoying himself, so I’m happy about that!  He has also been working out at the gym more frequently lifting weights.  He just hit a personal record on deadlifts (I think it was 3 sets of 3 at 245lb… I literally can’t even comprehend that much weight!)  We have also been experiencing lots of interesting office politics at our jobs (particularly with both of us being more senior, we’re seeing a lot of the “behind the scenes” parts of how our departments work).  Interesting, to say the least.  And it’s pretty clear that neither of us fit the “conformist” role very readily.  So lots of philosophical discussions around that in the evenings while we hang out with Piper.  And he’s also researching BMW’s.  I am unclear whether or not this means there is a new car in our future.  He may just enjoy looking up nice cars.  Or he may be gearing himself up.  Once again, I am unclear.  😉

Have a wonderful daylight savings weekend!  Note to self: Must remember to change all the non-auto-adjusting clocks in the house or I risk being confused about the time until we fall off daylight savings time again in the fall!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A random day in the life…

  1. Jim A.

    Beef Brisket- Seriously? I have gone without red meat for 30 days!

Leave a Reply

